The Tainted EarthThe next Egaeus Press publication The Tainted Earth by George Berguño will be published during the first week of December, 2012 (so all international orders placed during the first week or so after publication should be delivered comfortably in time for Christmas).

The Tainted Earth features eight stories written in the tradition of European Fantastique, blending history with the uncanny, and the beautiful with the hideous and strange. The collection also includes a novella in three cantos, a bizarre story about one man’s search for a secret society dedicated to the preservation of useless tales.

The contents of The Tainted Earth are as follows:

  • The Tainted Earth
  • The Sick Mannes Salve
  • The Ballad of El Pichón
  • Fugue for Black Thursday
  • Mouse and the Falconer
  • The Rune Stone at Odenslunda
  • The Good Samaritan of Prague
  • Three Drops of Death
  • A Spell of Subtle Hunting
  • Canto I – Historian of the Strange
  • Canto II – Bibliotheca Abscondita
  • Canto III – Kniébolo’s Lament
  • Notes to the Stories

Two of the eight short stories appeared earlier this year. “The Sick Mannes Salve,” a satirical horror story, was published in the magazine Shadows and Tall Trees; while “Fugue for Black Thursday” was included in This Hermetic Legislature, the Ex Occidente tribute to Bruno Schulz.

The remaining six stories are rooted in ancient European, Latin American and Far Eastern folk motifs; a characteristic which sets it apart from George’s first two collections of stories. As for the novella, A Spell of Subtle Hunting, this represents a very intimate tribute to Surrealism. It is an exceedingly strange story that celebrates the incomplete, the fragmentary, and the useless things of life.

You can keep up with the publisher and new titles here: Egaeus Press

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This