The Terror Dan Simmons (Little, Brown & Company)

Also Nominated:

  • Grin of the Dark Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
  • Generation Loss Elizabeth Hand (Small Beer Press)
  • The Missing Sarah Langan (HarperCollns)
  • Season of the Witch Natasha Mostert (Dutton)

Fiction Collection

Dagger Key and Other Stories Lucius Shepard (PS Publishing)

Also Nominated:

  • The Imago Sequence and Other Stories Laird Barron (Night Shade Books)
  • Plots and Misadventures Stephen Gallagher (Subterranean Press)
  • Shadows Kith and Kin Joe R. Lansdale (Subterranean Press)
  • Masques of Satan Reggie Oliver (Ash Tree Press)

Long Fiction

Softspoken Lucius Shepard (Night Shade Books)

Also Nominated:

  • Procession of the Black Sloth Laird Barron (The Imago Sequence: Night Shade Books)
  • The Man in the Picture: A Ghost Story Susan Hill (Profile)
  • The Scalding Rooms Conrad Williams (PS Publishing)

Mid-Length Fiction

“Closet Dreams” Lisa Tuttle (Postscripts 10: PS Publishing)

Also Nominated:

  • “The Janus Tree” Glen Hirshberg (Inferno: Tor)
  • “Lie Still, Sleep Becalmed” Steven Duffy (At Ease with the Dead: Ash Tree Press)
  • “The Bone Man” Fredric S. Durbin (Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, December 2007)

Short Fiction

“Honey in the Wound” Nancy Etchemendy (The Restless Dead: Candlewick Press)

Also Nominated:

  • “Digging Deep” Ramsey Campbell (Phobic: Comma Press)
  • “The Tank” Paul Finch (At Ease with the Dead: Ash Tree Press)
  • “Splitfoot” Paul Walther (New Genre 5, Spring 2007)
  • “The Great White Bed” Don Webb (Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, May 2007)


Inferno Ellen Datlow, editor (Tor)

Also Nominated:

  • Summer Chills Stephen Jones, editor (Carroll & Graf)
  • American Supernatural Tales S.T. Joshi, editor (Penguin)
  • Strange Tales Volume II Rosalie Parker, editor (Tartarus Press)
  • At Ease with the Dead Barbara and Christopher Roden, editors (Ash Tree Press)


Mario Bava: All the Colors of Dark Tim Lucas (Video Watchdog)

Also Nominated:

  • Frankenstein: A Cultural History Susan Tyler Hitchcock (W.W. Norton & Company)
  • Warnings to the Curious: A Sheaf of Criticism on M.R. James Rosemary Pardoe & S.T. Joshi, eds. (Hippocampus Press)
  • Sides Peter Straub (CD Publications)
  • The Science of Stephen King Bob Weinberg & Lois M. Gresh (John Wiley)


Postscripts Peter Crowther & Nick Gevers, editors (PS Publishing)

Also Nominated:

  • Black Static
  • Dead Reckonings
  • The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction
  • Weird Tales

Illustrated Narrative

The Nightmare Factory Thomas Ligotti (creator/writer), Joe Harris & Stuart Moore (writers), Ben Templesmith, Michael Gaydos, Colleen Doran & Ted McKeever (illustrators) (Fox Atomic/Harper Paperbacks)

Also Nominated:

  • The Blot Tom Neely (I Will Destroy You)
  • Scalped: Indian Country Jason Aaron (writer) R.M. Gura (artist) (Vertigo/DC Comics)
  • The Arrival Shaun Tan (Arthur A. Levine Books)
  • Wormwood Gentleman Corpse: Birds, Bees, Blood & Beer Ben Templesmith (IDW)


Elizabeth McGrath for “The Incurable Disorder”, Billy Shire Fine Arts, December 2007

Also Nominated:

  • Didier Cottier for Exhibit at Utopiales, Nantes, France, November 2007
  • David Ho for his body of work
  • Chris Mars for “New Salem”, Jonathan Levine Gallery, October 2007
  • Mike Mignola for cover & illustrations: Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire (Bantam Spectra)

Living Legend

Peter Straub – Read An Essay Honoring Him: Straub

The IHG Awards

The International Horror Guild Awards recognize outstanding achievements in the field of Horror and Dark Fantasy. [List of recipients and nominees: Award years 1994-2006.] Nominations are derived from recommendations made by the public and the judges knowledge of the field.

The IHG Living Legend Award is determined solely by the judges. Living Legends are individuals who have made meritorious and notable contributions and/or have substantially influenced the field of horror/dark fantasy. Previous recipients are Ramsey Campbell, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, Gahan Wilson, Stephen King, Richard Bleiler, Charles L. Grant, William F. Nolan, Alice Cooper, Ray Bradbury, Clive Barker, Hugh B. Cave, Edward W. Bryant, Richard Matheson, and Harlan Ellison.

Edward Bryant, Stefan R. Dziemianowicz, Ann Kennedy Vandermeer, and Hank Wagner adjudicated for the final award year of 2007. William Sheehan and Fiona Webster were also judges. Paula Guran administered the award beginning in 1996. The awards were overseen by a non-profit corporation, The Mirabundus Project, Inc.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This