hwaThe Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and dark fantasy, today announced the launch of its Lucky Th1rt3en Short Film Competition. Selected shorts will be screened in Las Vegas, NV as part of the HWA’s inaugural StokerCon 2016 (www.StokerCon2016.com).

Starting November 16, 2015, filmmakers may submit new horror short films—up to 13 minutes in length—to the competition via the following link: http://bit.do/LuckyTh1rt3en

A panel of industry judges will select the films to be screened at StokerCon 2016, held May 12-15, 2016 at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas.

At the StokerCon 2016 screening, the finalists’ films will be scored by a panel of celebrity judges, including:

  • Daniel Knauf, producer of The Blacklist, Carnivale, and Dracula
  • Mike McCarty, special effects show supervisor at KNB EFX Group
  • Mark Miller, vice president of Seraphim Films
  • John Skipp, screenwriter of A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child
  • Aaron Sterns, writer of Wolf Creek: 2
  • Tony Timpone, editor of Fangoria Magazine
  • Ryan Turek, head of development at Blumhouse Productions

Upon conclusion of the screenings, the judges will award one film/filmmaker the Tredecim Award. The award includes a $1,000 cash prize and an exclusive one-year “first look” deal with Co-Conspiracy Entertainment.

The HWA is offering a limited-time “early bird special” from November 13-December 13, 2015, during which time the fee for film submissions is $13 USD (per entry). After that window closes, the submission fee is $25 USD. The final deadline for all short film entries is March 13, 2016.

Submitted shorts cannot be previously broadcast, screened, or presented to a public audience. Films that have been previously submitted to other festivals or competitions are also ineligible.

A full explanation of the competition’s rules and requirements is located on the submission site.

About the Horror Writers Association

The Horror Writers Association is a nonprofit organization of writers and publishing professionals around the world, dedicated to promoting dark literature and the interests of those who write it. The HWA formed in 1985 with the help of many of the field’s greats, including Dean KoontzRobert McCammon, and Joe Lansdale. The HWA is home to the prestigious Bram Stoker Award® and the annual StokerCon horror convention.

For more on the Horror Writers Associations, please visit www.horror.org.

SOURCE Horror Writers Association

About Jess Landry

Jess Landry is an eccentric billionaire, the inventor of the hacky-sack and a compulsive liar. She spends her time mentally preparing for the zombie apocalypse and playing with her cats. You can find some of her work online at SpeckLit.com and EGM Shorts.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This