hwa-logo450From the press release: 

An all-star lineup of some of the most respected voices in horror will present The Bram Stoker Awards® – the horror genre’s highest honor – as part of the World Horror Convention after an evening gala banquet (approximately 7:30 p.m.) Saturday, May 10, 2014, in the Multnomah/Holladay Room at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Portland, Oregon. Jeff Strand, author of I Have a Bad Feeling About This and known as “the funniest man in the gore business,” will emcee.

Presenters include: Linda Addison (How to Recognize a Demon Has Become Your Friend), Michael Arnzen (Play Dead), Jason V. Brock (The Ackermonster Chronicles), Greg Chapman (Witch Hunts), Ellen Datlow (Lovecraft’s Monsters), James Dorr (The Tears of Isis), Scott Edelman (What Will Come After), JG Faherty (Castle By the Sea), Lois Gresh (Dark Fusions: Where Monsters Lurk!), Lynne Hansen (Shades of Blue and Gray), Nancy Holder (Buffy: The Making of a Slayer), Jack Ketchum (The Lost), Leslie Klinger (The New Annotated H. P. Lovecraft), John R. Little (Little By Little), Lisa Mannetti (The Gentling Box), Mike McCarty (Werewolf Bloodlines Book One: Gemini Rising), Joe McKinney (The Savage Dead), Lisa Morton (Netherworld: Book One in the Chronicles of Diana Furnaval), Yvonne Navarro (Concrete Saviour: A Dark Redemption Novel), Weston Ochse (Age of Blood: Seal Team 666 Book Two), John Palisano (Nerves), John Skipp (Psychos: Serial Killers, Depraved Madmen, and the Criminally Insane), Aaron Sterns (Wolf Creek 2), Steve Rasnic Tem (Blood Kin), F. Paul Wilson (A Necessary End) and Rocky Wood (Stephen King: A Literary Companion).

In addition, Lifetime Achievement Award-winner Stephen Jones, the renowned editor behind such anthology series as Best New Horror and Zombie Apocalypse!, will be on-hand to accept; and R. L. Stine, the legendary creator of Goosebumps and Fear Street, will accept his Lifetime Achievement Award via video.

The awards presentation will begin immediately after the banquet, approximately 7:30 p.m., and will be streamed live via the internet, courtesy of platinum sponsor, Samhain Publishing. To view the live-stream, please follow these instructions:

1. On the evening of May 10, visit https://avms.webex.com/avms/j.php?MTID=mbfc75996326ded17427e4dad4f06c473.

2. If requested, enter your name and email address.

3. If a password is required, enter: whc2014. Then, click “Join.”

To view in other time zones or languages, please click the link: https://avms.webex.com/avms/j.php?MTID=m4029989ede732b114a103416db2f97aa.

For assistance, go to https://avms.webex.com/avms/mc and on the left navigation bar, click “Support.”

To add this meeting to your calendar program (for example Microsoft Outlook), click this link: https://avms.webex.com/avms/j.php?MTID=m857b79779d7267eebec357aa2cf0825a.


The Bram Stoker Awards banquet is sponsored by Samhain Publishing, JournalStone Publishing and Michael Randolph.

For more information on the World Horror Convention, or to purchase tickets to the banquet, please visit http://www.worldhorror2014.org.

The Bram Stoker Awards are presented annually by the Horror Writers Association, a worldwide organization promoting dark literature and its creators. HWA has more than 1,100 members who write, edit and publish professionally in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, games, films, comics and other media. For more information about the HWA or the Bram Stoker Awards, please visit www.horror.org.

About Russ Thompson

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This