Jun
19

June 19th Horror Quick Hits

posted by

John Carpenter is back after a ten year hiatus.

Author Alan Ryker shares his thoughts on everything from vampires to how badly written books become mega-hits in this interview.

The second printing of Graveyard Of Empires #1, a 32-page full color horror/survival comic book that will appeal to fans of The Hurt Locker and The Walking Dead, is priced at $2.99 and available for re-order now with an in-store date of July 13.

Turf HC, a 192-page full-color horror/noir/sci-fi comic book for $39.99, will be available at a comic store near you on July 20, 2011.

Stephen King is set to return to the world of his bestselling fantasy series, the Dark Tower books, in a new novel out next year.

T. Lyn Fletcher, the author of the upcoming supernatural/horror/vampire book series Twisted and Turned, has launched a new website specifically designed to capture the ambiance of the series and to keep future readers enthralled.

Kevin Matzke’s The 5th Brother examines the fictional case of a serial killer named “The Creeper” who terrorizes a Maryland community. It’s part of what he hopes will become a trilogy that is part crime thriller and part horror story, with a touch of the supernatural. Read an interview with Matzke.

In this interview with Matt Baglio, the author of the original book The Rite: The Making of a Modern Exorcism, talks about his involvement with the film and his experiences with the exorcism class which inspired the project.

Daniel Kraus’s young adult novel Rotters tells the unlikely story of Joey Crouch, a 16 year old boy from Chicago whose mother is killed by a bus; Joey is sent to live with his mysterious father in small-town Iowa, and that’s when things get weird. Read a full review here: Rotters

Detective fiction has come a long way in the approximately 170 years it has been in existence and widely read. The characters have changed, the plots have become more complex, but one thing has never changed: the enjoyment readers get when they crack the spine of a good mystery and take it all in. Not horror, but an interesting piece on detective fiction …

Playback starring Christian Slater, Toby Hemmingway, Ambyr Childers and Johnny Pacar is trying to build buzz with exclusive e-novella.

The Association of Library Trustees, Advocates, Friends and Foundations (ALTAFF), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), will host “Mystery and Horror @ your library” from 10:30 a.m. to noon CDT on Sunday, June 26 at the 2011 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

In his new young adult novel, Idaho Winter, Tony Burgess unleashes his trademark gore and gross-out humour on the kids.

Dead Mouse Productions, has secured the rights to Apparitions, a horror novel by northern Michigan author Raven Bower.

Young Adult author David Gatward is writing a new series of ebooks featuring 4 young kids who are kidnapped by a nefarious criminal Dr Crookshanks and his accomplice, Professor Kaufman. They are forced to jump “into” the classic adventure stories to steal famous fictional artifacts such as the map in Treasure Island, using a gadget called the Nautilus.

Austin horror author and illustrator Gabrielle Faust spends about four hours a day interacting directly with fans. She does it on social networks like Twitter, Facebook and MySpace.

The Gratuitous B-Movie Column, with host Bryan Kristopowitz, takes a look at the unfortunately titled low budget horror anthology flick Creepshow III, which hit home video back in 2006.

Bloodmaiden is a Christian fantasy for young adults, ridden with adventure and splashed with horror and romance. It is a tale of a young couple who choose to defy a terrible tradition to save their home. Read an interview with author Christine E. Schulze.

Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake series gets an overview from Panels on Pages …

Categories : Horror News

Comments

  1. Checked out Carpenter’s The Ward over the weekend. Pretty decent flick!

Leave a Reply