The International Horror Guild Awards were presented on Thursday evening, November 2, at the Renaissance Hotel during the World Fantasy Convention in Austin, TX. Nominations for the IHG are derived from recommendations made by the public, which are then considered by a selections of jurors. This year’s judges included Edward Bryant, Stefan R. Dziemianowicz, Ann Kennedy, and Hank Wagner. Paula Guran is the award administrator. The IHG awards are overseen by a non-profit corporation, The Mirabundus Project, Inc.
Brett Easton Ellis. Lunar Park (US: Knopf, UK:Macmillan/Picador)

Short Fiction
Rick Bowes. “There’s a Hole in the City” (SciFiction 06.15.05)

Mid-Length Fiction
Caitlín Kiernan. “La Peau Verte” (To Charles Fort, With Love)

Long Fiction
Gary Braunbeck. Kiss of The Mudman (Home Before Dark)

Collection (Single Author)
Joe Hill. 20th Century Ghosts (PS Publishing)

Postscripts (Peter Crowther, Editor/Publisher, PS Publishing)

Illustrated Narrative
Memories by Enki Bilal (Humanoid/DC)

S.T. Joshi and Stefan Dziemianowicz, editors. Supernatural Literature of the
World: An Encyclopedia
(Three Volumes) (Greenwood Press)

Clive Barker for Exhibition: Visions of Heaven and Hell (and Then Some), Bert Green Fine Art, Los Angeles, CA

Living Legend: Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

Chelsea Quinn Yarbro was is one of the first women to make a successful and long career writing modern supernatural fiction and now becomes the first woman to be named as an IHG Living Legend. Yarbro is best known as the creator of the heroic vampire, the Count Saint-Germain. With her creation of Saint-Germain, she delved into history and vampiric literature and subverted the standard myth to invent the first vampire who was more honorable, humane, and heroic than most of the humans around him. The world and its mortal inhabitants, not the vampires, are forces of darkness in Yarbro’s long-running “historical horror” series. She fully meshed the vampire with romance and accurately detailed historical fiction then filtered it through a feminist perspective that both the giving of sustenance and its taking were of equal erotic potency. Yarbro’s novels are notable for laying the groundwork for the 1990s upsurge of “paranormal romance” and trans-genre fiction.

Yarbro is one of only two women ever to be named as Grand Master of the World Horror Convention (2003) and the first to serve as president of the Horror Writers Association (1988-1990). In 2005 the city of Padua, Italy honored her with a day of celebration. She is the recipient of the Fine Foundation Award for Literary Achievement (1993) and (along with Fred Saberhagen) was awarded the Knightly Order of the Brasov Citadel by the Transylvanian Society of Dracula in 1997. In 1995 Yarbro was the only novelist guest of the Romanian government for the First World Dracula Congress, sponsored by the Transylvanian Society of Dracula, the Romanian Bureau of Tourism and the Romanian Ministry of Culture. She has been nominated for the Edgar, World Fantasy, and Bram Stoker Awards. Her manuscripts are being archived at Bowling Green University. Her Web site can be found at: Yarbro

The IHG Awards

The International Horror Guild Awards are now in their eleventh year. Based on public recommendations, the juried awards recognize outstanding achievements in the field of Horror and Dark Fantasy. Nominations are derived from recommendations made by the public and the judges’ knowledge of the field. Edward Bryant, Stefan R. Dziemianowicz, Ann Kennedy, and Hank Wagner adjudicate.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This