The Horror Writers Association (HWA) has announced Jeremy Wagner as the Sponsor for the Bram Stoker Vampire Novel of the Century Award.

The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the horror genre’s peak body for writers and publishing professionals, will be giving the Bram Stoker Vampire Novel of the Century Award in conjunction with the Bram Stoker Family Estate and the Rosenbach Museum & Library. The Award marks the centenary of the death in 1912 of Abraham (Bram) Stoker, the author of Dracula; and also celebrates the 25th Anniversary of the Association.

Full details of both the Banquet and ‘Celebrate HWA Day’ are at the HWA dedicated website, Stokers 2012. Details of the iconic Bram Stoker Award™, which has been won by such notable authors as Stephen King, Peter Straub, Joe Lansdale, Thomas Harris, Joyce Carol Oates, Neil Gaiman, Harlan Ellison and George R R Martin, are at: HWA Stokers

HWA President Rocky Wood welcomed Wagner’s support for this major Award: “This generous commitment from Jeremy Wagner is greatly appreciated by HWA and I am sure by all our members. This special one-time Award recognizes the importance of both Bram Stoker and the vampire novel to the horror genre.”

Wagner’s first novel, The Armageddon Chord, peaked at #4 on the B&N Paperback Best-seller list and has already garnered a Hiram Award. Publisher’s Weekly said The Armageddon Chord is, “Entertaining … electrified by breakneck pacing…” and Bram Stoker Award-winning author Peter Straub says, “Jeremy is a pretty impressive dude.” He is a proud member of the HWA. For more about the author visit: Jeremy Wagner.

Wagner commented, “It’s my honor to be the Sponsor of the Bram Stoker Vampire Novel of the Century Award. This is my second year as a Bram Stoker Award sponsor and I’m delighted to donate and be a part of it all. HWA has given its members, including myself, so much for the last 25 years … it gives me great joy to give something back to this extraordinary organization. Happy Anniversary HWA!”

A Jury, chaired by Leslie S. Klinger, one of the world’s foremost authorities on Dracula, will announce their six nominees for the Award this month. To qualify, a work must have been originally published in any language during the years 1912-2011, but must have been published in English as well. Although there are numerous excellent series of vampire fiction, the Jury will select a single book, not a body of work. The winner of the Award will be announced during the Bram Stoker Awards™ Banquet at the World Horror Convention in Salt Lake City, Utah, on March 31, 2012.

The Horror Writers Association is the premiere writers’ organization in the horror genre, with almost 700 members. It has presented the Bram Stoker Awards™ in various categories since 1987.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This