The Aeon Award contest, designed to promote writers and writing in the speculative fiction genres, has just announced on the Albedo One website those stories added by the judges to the contest shortlist after the second round of consideration, which ran from April to the end of July. Author names are removed to ensure impartiality while the judging proceeds, but the story titles are below.

Round 2 Shortlisted Stories:

“Star in a Glass”
“A Falcon Sharp and Passing”
“Wailing Wheel”
“Angele Dei”
“Lost Things”

Round 1 Shortlisted Stories:

“On the Feast of Stephen”
“Fenn, Brother of Francis”
“The Art of the Intractable”
“Mr. Kriswinkle’s Third Maiden Voyage”
“Gordon Street”
“Pirate Copies”

The Aeon Award is still open for entries until the end of November, 2009. Grand Judge, respected SF author Ian Watson, will then choose the winning stories. The Grand Prize is €1000 and publication in Albedo One, Ireland’s magazine of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Second and third place prizes are €200 and €100 and publication in Albedo One. Submissions may be up to 8000 words length in any speculative fiction genre (cross-genre or unclassifiable stories welcome). Full details can be found at (there is an entry fee of €7): Aeon Award Guideliness

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This