The Hugo Awards are awarded by the annual World Science Fiction Convention (the “Worldcon”). Finalists are nominated by members of the previous and impending members of Worldcon, while the winners are selected only by memebers of the upcoming Worldcon.

This year the World Science Fiction Convention, with the Hugo Awards Cermony, was held on August 21st. Here are the winners:

Best Fan Artist

Brad W. Foster

Best Fanzine

The Drink Tank, edited by Christopher J. Garcia and James Bacon

Best Fan Writer

Claire Brialey

Best Semiprozine

Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker

Best Professional Artist

Shaun Tan

Best Editor, Short Form

Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form

Lou Anders

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Doctor Who: “The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Inception, written and directed by Christopher Nolan (Warner)

Best Graphic Story

Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse, written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)

Best Related Book

Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It, edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea (Mad Norwegian)

Best Short Story

“For Want of a Nail” by Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s, September 2010)

Best Novelette

“The Emperor of Mars” by Allen M. Steele (Asimov’s, June 2010)

Best Novella

“The Lifecycle of Software Objects” by Ted Chiang (Subterranean)

Best Novel

Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis (Ballantine Spectra)

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2009 or 2010, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award).

Lev Grossman

This year’s Hugo Awards trophy was designed by Marina Gelineau. Congratulatons to all the winners.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This