The nominees for the 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards have been announced. The awards, first presented in 2007, are given out annual at Readercon for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.


  • Dark Matter, by Michelle Paver
  • A Dark Matter, by Peter Straub
  • Feed, by Mira Grant
  • Mr. Shivers, by Robert Jackson Bennett
  • The Reapers Are the Angels, by Alden Bell
  • The Silent Land, by Graham Joyce


  • The Broken Man, by Michael Byers
  • Chasing the Dragon, by Nicholas Kaufmann
  • “Mysterium Tremendum,” by Laird Barron
  • One Bloody Thing After Another, by Joey Comeau
  • Subtle Bodies, by Peter Dubé
  • The Thief of Broken Toys, by Tim Lebbon


  • “–30–,” by Laird Barron
  • “The Broadsword,” by Laird Barron
  • “Holderhaven,” by Richard Butner
  • “The Redfield Girls,” by Laird Barron
  • “Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains,” by Neil Gaiman

Short Story

  • “As Red as Red,” by Caitlin R. Kiernan
  • “Booth’s Ghost,” by Karen Joy Fowler
  • “The Foxes,” by Lily Hoang
  • “six six six,” by Laird Barron
  • “The Things,” by Peter Watts

Single-Author Collection

  • Occultation, by Laird Barron
  • The Ones That Got Away, by Stephen Graham Jones
  • The Third Bear, by Jeff Vandermeer
  • What I Didn’t See, by Karen Joy Fowler
  • What Will Come After, by Scott Edelman

Edited Anthology

  • Black Wings: Tales of Lovecraftian Horror, edited by S. T. Joshi
  • Haunted Legends, edited by Ellen Datlow and Nick Mamatas
  • My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales, edited by Kate Bernheimer
  • Stories: All New Tales, edited by Neil Gaiman and Al Sarrantonio
  • Swords and Dark Magic: The New Sword and Sorcery, edited by Jonathan Strahan and Lou Anders

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This