World-famous masters of suspense, publishing industry professionals, fans and readers packed the grand ballroom at the ThrillerFest V Gala Banquet on Saturday evening, July 10 at the Grand Hyatt in New York City for the International Thriller Writers (ITW) 2010 Thriller Awards. These coveted awards were the highlight of the uber-stimulating four-day festival that celebrated a remarkable increase in attendance over 2009.

Ken Follett was given the ThrillerMaster Award in recognition of his life’s work. Linda Fairstein was honored with the Silver Bullet Award for her outstanding achievement in support of literacy. And Mark Bowden received the first-ever True Thriller Award. In another first, a woman, Lisa Gardner, was presented with the award for Best Hardcover Novel. amie Freveletti, who was discovered in 2008 at ThrillerFest’s AgentFest, won Best First Novel. Best Paperback Original Novel was awarded to Colorado native Tom Piccirilli and best Short Story went to Twist Phelan.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

Best Hard Cover Novel (formerly Thriller of the Year):
The Neighbor, Lisa Gardner

Best Paperback Original Novel:
The Coldest Mile, Tom Piccirilli

Best First Novel:
Running From The Devil, Jamie Freveletti

Best Short Story:
A Stab In The Heart, Twist Phelan

Special Recognition:

Ken Follett, ThrillerMaster
Mark Bowden, True Thriller Award

Linda Fairstein, Silver Bullet Award

US Airways, Silver Bullet Award (Corporate)

ThrillerFest was established to bestow recognition and promote the thriller genre at an innovative and superior level. The literary event provides opportunities for mentoring, education, collegiality among thriller authors and industry professionals, and a venue where readers and fans can meet their favorite authors.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This