The British Fantasy Society has announced the shortlist for the 2012 British Fantasy Awards. Determined by the 952 recommendations from BFS members and FantasyCon attendees and overseen by the BFS Award Jury, the shortlist is:


  • The Heroes, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
  • 11.22.63, Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Cyber Circus, Kim Lakin-Smith (NewCon Press)
  • A Dance with Dragons, George RR Martin (Harper Voyager)
  • The Ritual, Adam Nevill (Pan)
  • Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor Books)

There will be two awards in the best Novel category: The August Derleth Award for best horror novel and The Robert Holdstock Award for best fantasy novel.


  • Terra Damnata, James Cooper (PS Publishing)
  • Ghosts with Teeth, Peter Crowther (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • King Death, Paul Finch (Spectral Press)
  • Near Zennor, Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • The Music of Bengt Karlsson, Murderer, John Ajvide Lindqvist (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Gorel and the Pot Bellied God, Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)

Short Fiction

  • “Dermot,” Simon Bestwick (Black Static)
  • “Sad, Dark Thing,” Michael Marshall Smith (A Book of Horrors)
  • “Florrie,” Adam Nevill (House of Fear)
  • “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet,” Robert Shearman (A Book of Horrors)
  • “The Coffin-Maker’s Daughter,” Angela Slatter (A Book of Horrors)


  • A Book of Horrors, editor Stephen Jones (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • House of Fear, editor Jonathan Oliver (Solaris Books)
  • The Weird, editors Jeff and Ann Vandermeer (Corvus Books)
  • Gutshot, editor Conrad Williams (PS Publishing)


  • Rumours of the Marvellous, Peter Atkins (Alchemy Press)
  • Mrs Midnight, Reggie Oliver (Tartarus Press)
  • Everyone’s Just So So Special, Robert Shearman (Big Finish)
  • A Glass of Shadow, Liz Williams (NewCon Press)


  • Midnight in Paris by Woody Allen
  • Attack the Block by Joe Cornish
  • The Awakening by Stephen Volk and Nick Murphy
  • Melancholia by Lars Von Trier
  • Kill List by Ben Wheatley and Amy Jump


  • Black Static, ed. Andy Cox TTA Press
  • Interzone, ed. Andy Cox TTA Press
  • SFX, ed. Dave Bradley Future Publishing
  • The Horror Zine, ed. Jeani Rector

Comic/Graphic Novel

Animal Man, Jeff Lemire and Travel Foreman (DC Comics)
Batwoman, JH Williams III and W Haden Blackman (DC Comics)
Locke and Key, Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW Publishing)
The Unwritten, Mike Carey and Peter Gross (Vertigo)
The Walking Dead, Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard (Image)

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This