It will be one “dark knight” this October as Spike TV presents the third annual Scream, a celebration of the best in horror, sci-fi, fantasy and comic genres.

Taping on Saturday, October 18 from The Greek Theater in Los Angeles, CA, Scream 2008 will premiere on Spike TV Tuesday, October 21 (9:00- 11:00 PM, ET/PT). Show host, presenters and musical performers to be announced shortly.

“We’re incredibly honored to have the support of such luminaries in the creative community to help determine the nominees for Scream 2008,” says Casey Patterson, senior vice president, event production for Spike TV and TV Land and executive producer of of the program. “This event, dedicated to honoring the incredible talent behind these genres has been long overdue, and we look forward to bringing the fans exactly what they want to see this year with big world premieres, rare performances and the superstars that made this year a record breaker at the box office. The world domination of comic book superheroes and the explosion of science fiction, fantasy and horror movies and television shows give us a lot to celebrate this year.”

This summer’s mega-blockbuster The Dark Knight tops the list with 21 nominations including The Ultimate Scream, Best Superhero, Best Villain, Best Director, Most Memorable Mutilation and Best Fantasy Movie. Iron Man came in second with 14 nominations and Hellboy II: The Golden Army is next in line with 13 nominations.

Ballots were sent out to Spike TV’s Scream 2008 advisory board, made up of respected and well-known members of the horror, sci-fi, fantasy and comic book worlds who were responsible for advising on categories and determining nominees in each category. All films, television shows and comic books were deemed eligible for inclusion if they were released between August 11, 2007 and August 8, 2008 and were representative of the genres listed. Winners will be determined by online voting at

This year’s advisory board members include: Wes Craven (writer/director A Nightmare on Elm Street) Neil Gaiman (writer/producer Beowulf, Stardust, Mirrormask) Geoff Johns (comic book writer, DC and Marvel, co-writer), Stephen King (acclaimed novelist co-director/co-producer Naughty Or Nice) Tim Kring (executive producer/creator, Heroes) Stephenie Meyer (novelist, Twilight, Eclipse, Breaking Dawn) Frank Miller (writer/producer/director Sin City, 300), Eli Roth (writer/producer/director, Hostel, Cell, Cabin Fever, writer/producer The Spirit), Kevin Smith (writer/director Clerks, Dogma, Reaper) Guillermo Del Toro (director Hellboy 1 & 2, Pan’s Labyrinth, the upcoming release, The Hobbit), and others.

Featuring distinctive categories and a diverse mixture of popular icons and outrageous creators, Spike TV’s Scream 2008 will honor the newest and hottest in horror, sci-fi, fantasy and comic genres across a number of entertainment platforms, including movies, television and comic books. The show will also recognize icons and pioneers who have influenced and shaped the industry.

Now, through Friday, October 17 fans can vote for their favorites, as well as view exclusive red carpet and backstage coverage of the event there, by visiting: Scream 2008

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This