Prior to the first American Publication of Brian Lumley’s ground-breaking, dead waking, best-selling Necroscope in 1988—the first novel in a long-lived, much-loved series—this British author had for twenty years been earning an envious reputation writing short stories, novellas, and a series of novels set against H. P. Lovecraft’s cosmic Cthulhu Mythos backdrop. In addition and for a further twenty years Lumley’s non-Mythos Fantasy, SF, and Horror stories have been appearing on a regular basis in some of the world’s most famous publications; for example The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, and Weird Tales, along with anthologies such as Karl Edward Wagner’s Year’s Best Horror Stories, Charles L. Grant’s Final Shadows, and Kirby McCauley’s Frights, among others.

With his multiple-award-winning literary career now spanning over four decades, Lumley continues to write his superior fictions, examples of which from each of those decades can be found in this current collection, where Weird Tales itself is represented by no less than five stories!

And so, to complete a trilogy of volumes begun with the Lovecraft-inspired The Taint and Other Novellas, and followed by Haggopian and Other Stories, Subterranean Press is now offering No Sharks in the Med and Other Stories, a handpicked collection of Brian Lumley’s best macabre tales…

Table of Contents

  • Introduction
  • Fruiting Bodies
  • The Sun, the Sea, and the Silent Scream
  • The Picnickers
  • The Viaduct
  • The Luststone
  • The Whisperer
  • No Sharks in the Med
  • The Pit Yakker
  • The Place of Waiting
  • The Man Who Killed Kew Gardens
  • My Thing Friday
  • The Disapproval of Jeremy Cleave

Pick up a copy directly from Subterranean Press: No Sharks in the Med

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This