The International Horror Guild Awards have been presented annually since 1995. Based on public recommendations, the juried awards recognize outstanding achievements in the field of Horror and Dark Fantasy. Nominations are derived from recommendations made by the public and the judges’ knowledge of the field.

This year’s awards will be presented Thursday evening, November 1, 2007 during the World Fantasy Convention in Saratoga Springs, New York. Ramsey Campbell has been named as this year’s Living Legend. Mr. Campbell has won more major literary awards than any other living author of horror or dark fantasy. His classic novels include The Face That Must Die, The Doll Who Ate His Mother, and The Influence, and his short story collection, Scared Stiff, virtually established the subgenre of erotic horror.

International Horror Guild Nominations For 2006 Works

Keith Donohue. The Stolen Child (Doubleday)
Will Elliott. The Pilo Family Circus (ABC Books)
Brian Evenson. The Open Curtain (Coffee House Press)
Stephen King. Lisey’s Story (Scribner)
Conrad Williams. The Unblemished (Earthling)

Long Fiction
Laird Barron. Hallucigenia (Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, June 2006)
P.D. Cacek. Forced Perspective (Night Visions XII)
Douglas Clegg. Isis (CD Publications)
Bradly Denton. Blackburn and the Blade (Lords of the Razor)
Norman Patridge. Dark Harvest (CD Publications)

Mid-Length Fiction
Paul Finch. The Old North Road (Alone on the Darkside)
Glen Hirshberg. The Muldoon (American Morons)
Caitlin R. Kiernan. Bainbridge (Alabaster)
M. Rickert. Journey into the Kingdom(Magazine of Fantasy &Science Fiction, May 2006)
David J. Schow. Obsequy (Subterranean #3/Havoc Swims Jaded)

Short Fiction
Terry Dowling. Cheat Light (Basic Black)
Stephen Gallagher. The Box (Retro-Pulp Tales)
Stephen Graham Jones. Raphael (Cemetery Dance #55)
Joel Lane. You Could Have It All (The Lost District)
Steve Rasnic Tem. The Disease Artist (Dark Arts)

Collection (Single Author)
Terry Dowling. Basic Black (CD Publications)
Glen Hirshberg. American Morons (Earthling)
Joel Lane. The Lost District and Other Stories (Night Shade Books)
M. Rickert. Map of Dreams (Golden Gryphon)

Kealan Patrick Burke, editor. Night Visions XII (Subterranean Press)
Joe R. Lansdale, editor. Retro-Pulp Tales (Subterranean Press)
William Sheehan and Bill Schafer, editors. Lords of the Razor (Subterranean Press)
J.N. Williamson and Gary A. Braunbeck, editors. Masques V (Gauntlet Publications)

Cemetery Dance
The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction
Weird Tales

Illustrated Narrative
Macon Blair and Joel Flood. Hellcity  (Gigantic Comics)
William Harms, Nick Postic and Nick Marinkovich, Impaler (Image Comics)
Greg Ruth. Panopticon (Dark Horse)
Lewis Trondheim. A.L.I.E.E.N. (France: Editions Breal, 2004; US: Firstsecond Books, 2006)

Mark Morris, editor. Cinema Macabre (PS Publishing)
S.T. Joshi, editor. Icons of Horror and the Supernatural (Greenwood Press)
Kim Paffenroth. Gospel of the Living Dead (Baylor University Press)
Scott Connors, editor. The Freedom of Fantastic Things (Hippocampus Press)
John Clute. The Darkening Garden (Payseur & Schmidt)

Aeron Alfrey. Exhibits from the Imaginary Museum
Camille Rose Garcia. Camille Rose Garcia: Subterranean Death Clash, Jonathan Levine Gallery, New York Chris Mars.
Chris Mars: Subderma, Jonathan Levine Gallery, New York John Picacio. Cover Story: The Art of John Picacio (MonkeyBrain)
J.K. Potter. Cover and illustrations: A Soul in a Bottle by Tim Powers (Subterranean)

Edward Bryant, Stefan R. Dziemianowicz, Ann Kennedy, and Hank Wagner adjudicated this year’s awards.

IHG Living Legends are individuals who have made meritorious and notable contributions and/or have substantially influenced the field of horror/dark fantasy. Previous recipients are Chelsea, Quinn Yarbro, Gahan Wilson, Stephen King, Richard Bleiler, Charles L. Grant, William F. Nolan, Alice Cooper, Ray Bradbury, Clive Barker, Hugh B. Cave, Edward W. Bryant, Richard Matheson, and Harlan Ellison.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This