The Horror Writers Association has announced the winners of the 2006 Bram Stoker Awards at its annual Stoker Banquet held Saturday night as part of the World Horror Convention in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Ten new bronze haunted-house statuettes were handed over to the writers responsible for creating superior works of horror last year. This year’s winners are:

Superior Achievement in a Novel
Lisey’s Story by Stephen King (Scribner)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel
Ghost Road Blues by Jonathan Maberry (Pinnacle)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
Dark Harvest by Norman Partridge (Cemetery Dance)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction
“Tested” by Lisa Morton (Cemetery Dance magazine #55)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

(Tie) Retro Pulp Tales by Joe R. Lansdale (Subterranean); and Mondo Zombie by John Skipp (Cemetery Dance)

Superior Achievement in a Collection
Destinations Unknown by Gary A. Braunbeck (Cemetery Dance)

Superior Achievement in Nonfiction
(Tie) Finals Exits: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of How We Die by Michael Largo (Harper); and Gospel of The Living Dead: George Romero’s Visions of Hell on Earth by Kim Paffenroth (Baylor Press)

Superior Achievement in Poetry
Shades Fantastic by Bruce Boston (Gromagon Press)

HWA also presented its annual Lifetime Achievement Award and its Specialty Press Award. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Thomas Harris. The Specialty Press Award went to PS Publishing of East Yorkshire, England.

Lisa Morton, HWA’s Stoker liaison, said it was good to have the Stoker banquet held in conjunction with the World Horror Convention again. “The World Horror organizers were fantastic to work with,” Morton said. “And it makes sense to award the Stokers during this convention since so many of the industry movers and shakers attend.”

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This