Since the Aurealis Award’ first ceremony, both the field of literature and the vibrancy of the Australian speculative fiction community have grown substantially. Congratulations to the winners of the 2008 Aurealis Awards! The winners were announced at the thirteenth annual Aurealis Awards ceremony at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts in Brisbane on Saturday 24 January 2009.

Best Science Fiction Novel

K A Bedford
Time Machines Repaired While-U-Wait
Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing

Best Science Fiction Short Story

Simon Brown
“The Empire”
Dreaming Again, Harper/Voyager

Best Fantasy Novel

Alison Goodman
The Two Pearls of Wisdom

Best Fantasy Short Story

Cat Sparks
“Sammarynda Deep”
Paper Cities, Senses 5 Press

Best Horror Novel

John Harwood
The Seance
Jonathan Cape (Random House Australia)

Best Horror Short Story

Kirstyn McDermott
Greatest Uncommon Denominator (GUD), #2

Best Anthology

Jonathan Strahan (editor)
The Starry Rift
Viking Children’s Books

Best Collection

Sean Williams & Russell B Farr (editor)
Magic Dirt: The Best of Sean Williams
Ticonderoga Publications

Best Illustated Book/Graphic Novel

Shaun Tan
Tales From Outer Suburbia
Allen & Unwin

Best Young Adult Novel

Melina Marchetta
Finnikin of the Rock
Viking Penguin

Best Young Adult Short Story

Trent Jamieson
Shiny, #2

Best Children’s Novel

Emily Rodda
The Wizard of Rondo
Omnibus Books

Best Children’s Illustrated Work/Picture Book

Richard Harland & Laura Peterson (illustrator)
Escape!, Under Siege, Race to the Ruins, The Heavy Crown
The Wolf Kingdom series, Omnibus Books

Peter McNamara Convenors’ Award for Excellence

Jack Dann

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This